English: ‘highlands’.

The Highlands is comprised of the five highlands provinces: Eastern Highlands, Simbu, Western Highlands, Southern Highlands and Enga. Other places in mountainous areas, such as Oksapmin, Telefomin, Goilala, Wau, and Aseki are not part of the Highlands.

See original Mihalic entry.

Proper noun forms

  1. Geography: the Papua New Guinea Highlands

  1. Ethnic identifier: a person from the Highlands, a Highlander
    wanpela hailans wantaim wanpela nambis wokabaut i kam a highlander and a coastal fellow were walking along ...

Revising the Mihalic Project, 26 Jan 2005 [Home]